WHAT IS PLASTIC POSITIVE?

______

Our goal is to stop plastic leakage into nature, clean up the existing plastic waste and bring recycling aids to areas in need. We want to provide transparent digital solutions to circular economy. To inspire and build a movement for sustainability and positive actions for the environment, we offset plastic footprint of people and companies through Plastic Positive services. The plastic waste is collected in over 20 partner countries while providing wages to those in need. Plastic Positive is created by Empower, based in Norway and making impact globally.

Why do we want to make a change?
______

Agriculture, tourism, harbours, damming of rivers, urban development and manufacturing, among others, are all sources of marine pollution. We need our oceans - more than 25 % of the CO₂ emitted each year into the atmosphere is absorbed by the ocean.

You may have heard the terrifying vision - by 2050 there may be more plastic in our oceans than fish. There is already 300 million tons of plastic in our oceans. Did you know that 8 million tons more end up in the oceans every year? Microplastics is also a problem - it is entering our food chains through agriculture, industry and cosmetics. Average person may ingest as many as 2,000 microplastic particles every week.

Over 300 million tons of plastic are produced every year. Plastic pollution threatens food safety, human health, coastal tourism, and contributes to climate change. Recycling and reusing of plastic products, with innovations to develop new sustainable products, are necessary to prevent and reduce plastic pollution.

EMPOWER PEOPLE
______

“We may have 150 million tons of plastic in the ocean. In my opinion the most important definition is: 'there is too much plastic in the ocean'. That’s all I can say. I think the smart thing about Empower is that you actually get history for the plastic in the economy.”

Simen Knudsen, Member & Ocean Ambassador

“I joined Empower to work with a company that makes the world a better place. I’m looking forward to discover how Empower’s technology can be a huge change in the plastic world we live in & to make sure this can support the waste pickers to survive this world crisis.”

Kyle Vanlerberghe, Empower intern, Belgium

“Today I do not know what we are going to eat at home. Prices have gone up too much, no offtakers. No food, no money for rent. We are struggling. Cleaning plastic waste is very important to us. This help our surroundings and gives us the resources we need the most."

Masika Mbwana - waste picker

Our Empower ambassadors are all over the world bringing awareness to the plastic waste problem and sharing solutions and ways of taking action.
Are you the next plastic hero to join our team? Send us an email.

JOIN US
MEET OUR TEAM
______
Meet the team of people making it happen.

We are a dedicated, diverse and versatile team that shares the same passion for the plastic waste problem and equally for this solution. Empower is based in Oslo, Norway, but with ambassadors, advisors, mentors and friends all around the World we are collectively a global movement on a mission to solve the plastic waste problem. Using technology and incentives to take action, raise awareness and spark real and lasting change.

Wilhelm Myrer, CEO & Founder
wilhelm@empower.eco
Gjermund Bjaanes, CTO & Founder
gjermund@empower.eco
Karen Haugsnes, CFO
Karen@empower.eco
Carl Nesset, COO & Founder
Carl@empower.eco
Knut Landsverk, Business Developer
Knut@empower.eco
Jessica Cao, Legal Counsel
jessica@empower.eco
Xia Li, UX designer
Xia@empower.eco
Malgorzata Dobrzanska, Frontend Lead
malgorzata@empower.eco
Sami Lazreg, Tech Lead
Sami@empower.eco
Tone Madsen, Project Manager
Tone@empower.eco
Dennis Neely, J. Developer
Dennis@empower.eco
Varpu Vasko, Customer Manager
Varpu@empower.eco
Stay tuned to what is coming up!
______

Subscribe to Plastic Positive Newsletter!
We share updates about plastic waste clean ups, impact stories and highlights!

SUBSCRIBE